Source Materials for Battle of the Trees

From the Book of Taliesin (1275 CE) & 
the Myrvian Archaeology (1370 CE)

1	I was in many forms
 	before I became free...
 	I was a narrow, blood-stained sword;
 	I believe that when I was made
5	I was drops in the air
 	looking up at the stars,
 	a word in a letter.
 	I was a primeval book;
 	for a year and a half
10 	I was lanterns of light.
 	I was a bridge spanning
 	sixty river mouths.
 	I was a hunter's course,
 	an eagle;
15 	I was a coracle
 	in the waters.
 	I was fizz in a brew
 	laying men low;
 	a drop in a shower of rain.
20 	A sword in hand I was,
 	shield in battle.
 	For many years
 	I was a string in a phantom harp.
 	Foam on water,
25	spark in a fire.
 	A log in a blaze.
 	I am not but that I sing,
 	I sang since I was a small lad.
 	At the Battle of the Trees
30	I sang in the van
 	before the King of Britain.
 	I goaded on horses,
 	fleet of foot.
 	I fermented fleets
35	laden with merchandise.
 	I pierced a scaly monster.
 	A hundred heads it had,
 	one mighty host
 	under the base of its tongue,
40	another lurking
 	in the ridges of its neck;
 	a black-groined toad
 	with a hundred claws.
 	Then a variegated, ridged serpent
45	a hundred souls are tortured
 	in the folds of its flesh.
 	I was at the Castle of Nefenhir
 	when trees and grass
 	were locked in combat.
50	Minstrels sang, armies collided.
 	Trees rose up
 	before the waver of a magic wand.
 	We called upon Neifion,
 	upon Christ from the first causes
55	so that the Lord would redeem
 	what he had made.
 	The Lord answered through people
 	and the earth:
 	"Conjure up majesic trees",
60	(through him)
 	“in great numbers
 	and resist the mob.”
 	When trees were conjured up,
 	there came a mighty, bounteous host:
65	hope itself approached.
 	Plucked out of four kinds of strings
 	in battle they fell
 	three battle weary whelps.
 	The battle-cry racked a woman's heart,
70	tortured by grief.
 	Like flaxen tips
 	the maiden's hair,
 	the spoils of the heifer of unrest.
 	They did not succeed
75	in dispersing us
 	what with the blood of men
 	up to our thighs.
 	The biggest of the Three Bloodbaths,
 	this, in the history of the world:
80 	one was the outcome of the Flood,
 	the second was Christ was crucified
 	With the Day of Judgement at hand.
 	The alder at the front line foraged first.
 	Then, late for the fray,
85	came the willow and the rowan-tree.
 	Prickly blackthorn with bubbling zest,
 	the blackberry, its royal equal,
 	taking the position of heir-apparent
 	in the thick of the fray.
90 	Rose bushes now ventured forth
 	with venom against a host.
 	The raspberry came forming a circle
 	for the defense of life.
 	Now privet and honeysuckle,
95 	ivy in its prime,
 	then the surge of the giant gorse.
 	Cherry trees had sounded the alarm;
 	With great pomp was birch-tree there
 	donning armor, not from cowardice, 
100	but decking herself for the occasion.
 	Almond arose, exotic trees
 	Pine took over the center of the hall:
 	in the chair of honor did the oak-tree
 	cut a dash before kings.
105	Then the lime-tree in all its splendor,
 	not flinching one foot,
 	cut them down left, right and center.
 	Hazel trees were now worthy.
 	Blessed be the privet, battle-bullock,
110	king of the world.
 	Beech excelled on sea and estuary.
 	The holly has put forth leaves anew,
 	now reveling in its battle-cry,
 	terror dealt from its hand.
115 	A burst of bryony...
 	it has broken its ranks;
 	Bracken's swell, broom to battle
 	in the furrows of wounding.
 	Gorse the farmer's bane,
120	yet were they gathered together.
 	Heather was deft & victorious,
 	your warriors all bewitched.
 	The black-cherry in hot pursuit;
 	the oak rushing headlong...
125 	before it heaven & earth did shake.
 	Borage, inveterate fighter,
 	its name is on the tablets.
 	The assembly of elms caused terror,
 	they rebuffed all onslaughts
130	when their defense were breached.
 	The pear-tree wreaked havoc
 	on the field of battle.
 	The thorn-apple was awesome,
 	its advance was constant.
135	The thrust of the chestnut
 	put pine-trees to shame.
 	Jet is wont to be black;
 	The mountain curved.
 	Trees are usually slim.
140	More powerful are high seas.
 	Since I sensed the time of year
 	the tips of birches have covered us,
 	have undone winter's dying.
 	The tops of oaks have ensnared us
145 	through the Gwarchan of Maelderw.
 	Rock-face laughs
 	the lord is in full battle array.
 	I was not born of father or mother.
 	My blood, my creation
150	stems from the nine forms of essence
 	From fruition,
 	from the fruits of the earth,
 	from the first fructification of God.
 	From primroses,
155	flowers of the heights,
 	flowers of trees & shrubs,
 	from soil, from earth, was I made;
 	from nettle-flowers,
 	from the water of the ninth wave.
160	Math conjured me up
 	before I became the gifted one,
 	Gwydion witched me,
 	the great Brython king,
 	& so did Eurwys & Euron,
165	yes, Euron & Modron
 	& a hundred & fifty wizards.
 	Learned men fashioned me.
 	A chieftain created me
 	when he was half burnt.
170	Wizard's ways conjured me up
 	before the beginning of the world:
 	before its inhabitation was mine,
 	before its extent was made.
 	The gift of a fine poet made us all.
175	In song do I abide
 	by what the tongue utters.
 	I played in the hearthlight,
 	I slept in purple.
 	I was in battle array
180	with Dylan the scion of the wave;
 	in the encirclement
 	right in the center of things:
 	upon the knees of kings.
 	Like two inordinate spears
185	did they come from heaven
 	to the torrents of Annwn:
 	to battle do they come
 	eighty thousand strong.
 	And I pierced them through
190	for all their aggression.
 	They are no older or younger than I 
 	in their attrition.
 	The vigor of a thousand men had I,
 	the cleaving of all around.
195	On my silvery sword,
 	blood of nobles flows towards me.
 	Through the instigation of a lord,
 	through a craven's will
 	in his haunt a boar was killed.
200 	He made things, he unmade them.
 	He made languages.
 	Radiant is his name.
 	Llwch, he leads a host.
        “When I come sparks fly high.”
205 	I was a multi-colored serpent on a hill,
 	a viper in a lake.
 	I was the sword of a prince.
 	I was a spit.
 	These are my cloak and cauldron:
210	I am well-prepared.
 	They make eighty whiffs of smoke.
 	A hundred slave girls
 	are the value of my knife.
 	Six golden horses
215	are a thousand times better.
 	My light chestnut horse
 	is as fleet as a seagull.
 	I was not taken aback
 	on sea and shore.
220	I have caused carnage,
 	the blood of a hundred men
 	is on my hands.
 	My shield is studded with gems,
 	my shield-strap is gold.
225	In the gap was not born 
 	a name so dear to me 
 	but Gronw from
 	the meadows of Edrywy.
 	My fingers are long and white,
230	far from a shepherd was I reared;
 	I rolled on the ground
 	before I became a proficient.
 	I traversed, I went round them,
 	I slept on a thousand islands
235	I took a hundred forts.
 	Wise druids, prophesy to Arthur
 	what will be, what is,
 	what was once to be perceived:
 	the story of the flood,
240	Christ's crucifixion
 	With Judgement Day at hand.
 	We would extol in golden tones.
 	I would conjure up shrubs.
 	For I am wanton
245	with the prophesy of Virgil. 

Robert Graves Modern Translation from The White Goddess (1948)

The tops of the beech tree have sprouted of late,
are changed and renewed from their withered state.
When the beech prospers, though spells and litanies
the oak tops entangle, there is hope for trees.

I have plundered the fern, through all secrets I spy,
Old Math ap Mathonwy knew no more than I.
For with nine sorts of faculty God has gifted me,
I am fruit of fruits gathered from nine sorts of tree —

Plum, quince, whortle, mulberry, raspberry, pear,
black cherry and white, with the sorb in me share.
From my seat at Fefynedd, a city that is strong,
I watched the trees and green things hastening along.

Retreating from happiness they would fein be set
in forms of the chief letters of the alphabet.
Wayfarers wandered, warriors were dismayed
at renewal of conflicts such as Gwydion made;

Under the tongue root a fight most dread,
and another raging, behind, in the head.
The alders in the front line began the affray.
Willow and rowan-tree were tardy in array.

The holly, dark green, made a resolute stand;
he is armed with many spear-points wounding the hand.
With foot-beat of the swift oak heaven and earth rung;
“Stout Guardian of the Door”, his name in every tongue.

Great was the gorse in battle, and the ivy at his prime;
the hazel was arbiter and this charmed time.
Uncouth and savage was the fir, cruel the ash tree —
turns not aside a foot-breadth, straight at the heart runs he.

The birch, though very noble, armed himself but late:
a sign not of cowardice but of high estate.
The heath gave consolation to the toil-spent folk,
the long-enduring poplars in battle much broke.

Some of them were cast away on the field of fight
because of holes torn in them by the enemy’s might.
Very wrathful was the vine whose henchmen are the elms;
I exalt him mightily to rulers of realms.

Strong chieftains were the blackthorn with his ill fruit,
the unbeloved whitethorn who wears the same suit.
The swift-pursuing reed, the broom with his brood,
and the furse but ill-behaved until he is subdued.

The dower-scattering yew stood glum at the fight’s fringe,
with the elder slow to burn amid fires that singe.
And the blessed wild apple laughing in pride
from the Gorchan of Maelderw, by the rock side.

In shelter linger privet and woodbine,
inexperienced in warfare, and the courtly pine.
But I, although slighted because I was not big,
Fought, trees, in your array on the field of Goddeu Brig.

Published by Ulchabhan

Well met! I am a Druid in the Order of Bards, Ovates, and Druids. I am one of the administrators for the Spirit of the Alleghenies: Druidry, Wicca, and Norse Pagan Fellowship. Blessed Be!

Leave a comment