Teenagers and the Craft

It’s been a long time since I posted, and I truly didn’t mean to be inactive for this long! We had a REALLY busy summer, then it was autumn, which meant back to school, my birthday, and basically getting back to the Fall Routine. October was fun… a two week visit from my sister, who lives in Northern England, and my brother, sister-in-law, and nieces. All were in town to attend the wedding of our youngest cousin, which was a lovely celebration of the love the two of them share! Then November brought my fourth anniversary with my partner, Thanksgiving, and the kickoff of the Holiday season at our home. December… well, I don’t think I need to explain that to ANYONE! We had a wonderful Holiday Season, but it was good to be done with it too!

So here we are, in a brand new year, with all the joys and challenges it brings. For our family, it is a momentous year… my son, William, is heading into the mysterious, wonderful world of Teenagehood! He’s already got the attitude, and some of the hormonal shifts, so that won’t change much. All that’s really going to change is his status… he will no longer be a “Tween,” but an Official Teenager. He’s already excited at the prospect of being able to have his very own YouTube and Facebook accounts, even if they ARE going to be heavily monitored by his Mom, Mr. Don, and most of his extended family! It is definitely an exciting time for all of us!

Another thing that’s changing is his Spiritual Path. He’s been a part of my spiritual practice since I stepped back onto the Path. He’s attended Sabbat Celebrations, Full Moon Rituals, and even participated to a degree. He’s dabbled in the Craft for about a year now, but he’s showing more and more signs that he’s ready to move past dabbling, and into more serious study of the Craft, and his own Personal Path through it. I knew this day would come, and I looked forward to it… yet I dread it at the same time! My baby, my only child, is coming into himself, and becoming independent of me. It’s a seismic shift in a parent’s life, and it shakes us to our very core, even if only for a moment.

Of course, I’ll walk with him as he starts his own journey on his path! I’ve ordered him his first book on witchcraft, and it is aimed at Teen Witches, who are just starting out. He also has access to a fairly extensive library of my books, after he grasps the basics. We are also SUPREMELY fortunate to have access to all sorts of Pagans, from our local Norse Clan, to a Druid, practitioners of Native American Spirituality, to a Wiccan who has been practicing for 50+ years! He will have no shortage of people to help and guide him along his path, even if it diverges from mine somewhere down the line.

Overall, we will be okay. While it’s hard to accept that we’ve reached this point in the cycle, I’m also BEYOND excited to see where his path ultimately takes him!

Blessings to All, and Love from our home to yours! )O(

Published by Silver Moondancer

I'm a middle-aged woman. I'm a Witch. I'm a Mom to a pre-teen son. I'm a daughter, a sister, a niece, an Aunt, and a Granddaughter. I'm an activist, and an Ally to the LGBTQ+ and the Black communities. I'm political, and outspoken about it! I'm a partner in a committed Life Partnership with a big, bearded Scotsman. Overall, I am ME, and I'm proud of it! 💗

Leave a comment